Members of Fauquier County and Warrenton law enforcement gathered Friday morning at the Adult Detention Center for the Sheriff's Office annual Memorial Service.

The ceremony, conducted with a reduced number of officers and family members because of COVID-19 precautions, honored three officers who have been killed in the line of duty: Sgt. Charles Ebert Murray, Jr., who died in 1990; Deputy John Henry Walker, who died in 1972, and Sgt. John Holcombe Woodson of the Southern Railway Police Department, who was killed in 1946.

Family members of the officers placed flags on a wreath in honor of their loved ones.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.