Utilizing the nearly completed new town hall on Main Street, the five individuals elected in May to serve on the Warrenton Town Council during the upcoming term were sworn in Tuesday during a brief ceremony. The new town council term begins on Wednesday, July 1 and lasts four years.

Newcomers James Hartman (Ward 4), Bill Semple (Ward 2) and Heather Sutphin (Ward 1) joined incumbents Kevin Carter (Ward 5) and Brett Hamby (Ward 3) at the ceremony as Fauquier County Circuit Court Clerk Gail Barb administered the oath office to each member individually. In keeping with public health guidelines, those in the room wore masks and the customary handshakes were absent.

The five members beginning their terms Wednesday will join at-large council members Renard Carlos and Sean Polster, whose terms expire in 2022. Mayor Carter Nevill’s term also expires in 2022.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.