Welcome to Fauquier.com

Fauquier County Public Schools holds division-wide spelling bee

Tuesday, Jan. 8 | By Alisa Booze Troetschel
Last year Warrenton Middle School's Drew Marino advanced to the Regional Spelling Bee. --Photo By Bob Martin

Students from all 11 elementary schools and four of five middle schools will challenge their spelling knowledge in Fauquier County's school division spelling bee at 10:00 a.m. Jan. 12. It will be held in the forum of Auburn Middle School.

The winner will continue to the 8th Annual Free Lance-Star Regional Spelling Bee on March 16, held at James Monroe High School in Fredericksburg, Va. That winner will advance to the 86th Annual Scripps National Spelling Bee in Washington, D.C., held May 26 to June 1, 2013.

Participants from each school are as follows. The winner of each school competiiton is marked with an asterisk. There was no clear winner from Taylor Middle School.

Bradley Elementary: Caity Cummins, Hannah Holland, Kyra Holland*, Rielan Pura

Brumfield Elementary: Jake Bandler, Brett Clore, Helen Lohr, Savannah Paap*

Coleman Elementary: Kate Lattig, Matt McLaughlin*, Zach Nelson, Brianna Owens

Greenville Elementary: Angelo Brizzi, Michael Pratt, Caden Rogers, Teresa Russell

Miller Elementary: Dylan Aberdeen, Sydney Gesiotto, Layla Marek, Bryce Meadows*

Pearson Elementary: Claire Duckworth, Brooke King, Briana Loftus, Paige Shorey*, Skyla Strain

Pierce Elementary: Zack Moss, Autumn Mullins, Sarah Spagnolo, Ali Wright*

Ritchie Elementary: Makayla MacWelch, Joseph Randall*, Caroline Watkins, Harrison Yergey

Smith Elementary: Derrick Coleman*, Lexi Cutler, Lucas McCulla, Sydney Murphy

Thompson Elementary: Lumin Edmonds, Elizabeth Loveland, Jacob Miller, Luke Patusky*

Walter Elementary: Ally Corvin, Tony De Souza*, Madison Serttas, Erin Strong

Auburn Middle: Madison Fitzpatrick, Elizabeth Nefferdorf, Julia Rocca, Liam Whitted*

Cedar Lee Middle: Anna Brickey, Dustin Lowe, Matthew Schwindt*, Gillian Tocheny

Taylor Middle: Joel Alexander, Domenic Erbschloe, Catherine Frost, Jordan Marshall

Warrenton Middle: Hudson Coleman*, Gehrig Faircloth, Connor Horste, Drew Marino*
Commenting is not available in this channel entry.

Get Headlines Every Tuesday and Thursday By Email

More News

seal Click here to see the winners of the Readers Choice contest.
Get Headlines by Email
By using this site, you agree to the Terms of Service.
Copyright © 2014 Fauquier Times