Welcome to Fauquier.com

12 nominated for Fauquier outstanding teacher award

Wednesday, Jan. 29 | By Contributed article
Twelve teachers have been nominated to become Fauquier County Public School’s 2014 Agnes Meyer Outstanding Teacher.

Parents, school employees and community members were invited to nominate teachers at the school level, and then 12 of Fauquier County’s 20 public schools selected one teacher to forward as its nominee. The Washington Post Company Educational Foundation established the Agnes Meyer Outstanding Teacher Award to recognize teachers who exemplify excellence in their profession.

An FCPS advisory team will review the 12 nominations and select Fauquier County’s recipient, who will receive $3,000 from The Washington Post Company Educational Foundation at a ceremony in May 2014.

“I’ve discovered that one of the many strongpoints of the school division in Fauquier County is the quality of the instructional program,” said Dr. David Jeck, division superintendent, in a press release. “We have so many excellent teachers in our county that it is difficult to single out only one. This year’s pool of nominees is exceptional.”

Following are the 12 FCPS teachers nominated for the 2014 Agnes Meyer Outstanding Teacher Award:

· Jennifer Armstrong, fourth-grade teacher, Thompson Elementary School

· Leslie Bailey, speech pathologist, Miller Elementary School

· Haf Corbin, reading teacher, Cedar Lee Middle School

· Tony Dandrea, history teacher, Warrenton Middle School

· Bill Davidson, technology and engineering teacher, Kettle Run High School

· Allison Graves, music teacher, Smith Elementary School

· Pam Graves, fifth-grade teacher, Brumfield Elementary School

· Jim O’Brokta, world history and economics teacher, Liberty High School

· Karen Perryman, special education teacher, Pierce Elementary School

· Caitlin Scott, English teacher, Auburn Middle School

· David Smith, government teacher, Fauquier High School

· Jared Zangari, technology teacher, Taylor Middle School

Fauquier County Public Schools will announce the winner of the 2014 Agnes Meyer Outstanding Teacher Award in April, pending initial announcement by The Washington Post.

You must be registered and logged in to comment.

Get Headlines Every Tuesday and Thursday By Email

More News

Get Email Updates
For complete, in-depth community coverage, subscribe today.

inFauquier Summer 2016

Piedmont Business Journal - Spring 2016

2016 Piedmont Real Estate

inFauquier Spring 2016